I’m so ready for my post-vacation vacation

We’re home and we all survived!

My mom, my aunt and myself drove my 3 small kids nearly 3,000 miles from Tampa to Chicago to Washington DC and back. I’ve survived to tell (or really to blog) the tale!

We had some harrowing moments: more than one too close for comfort potty break, a lost (and later found) jacket, numerous meltdowns and at least one incident with an impatient fellow road warrior. But, we’re home and everyone and (almost) everything we left with is accounted for.

I’ll detail the trip in a more lengthy future post but for now let me just say that I am SO READY for a vacation! This adventure we just completed could hardly be considered a vacation. Rest, relaxation and returning rejuvenated are the signs of a true vacation. This was a test of planning and patience and a jaunt toward the brink of insanity.

We got home after the final 15 hour leg of our drive at 11:30 this morning. We got home with about 45 minutes to share our adventure with our #1 fan (the man they call daddy) before he left for a meeting at the restaurant…on his day off. I unpaked everyone and did two loads of laundry. Fortunately for me and my dwindling sanity, my husband returned home in time to handle dinners and baths so I could get some me time.

After eight days of doing it all, I think I’ve earned a selfish moment of quiet. This is as close to vacation as it gets for me and I plan to soak up every glorious second. Tomorrow my workaholic hubs returns to work. I’ll be back on mommy duty, back to our routine and back to my life as a semi-single parent.

Leave a Reply

